W.P. Regional Motorcycle Champs (8th)

Well we new it would be a good one and the 8th and semi-final Western Province motorcyle champs certainly did not dissapoint.Unofficially Ronald Slamet (Novel/Mike Hopkins Kawasaki ZX1000R) sewed up his second superbike class championship with business-like efficiency (does this guy ever make a mistake!?) although those who've been watching closely know that Ronalds 2014 crown was already in the bag around the mid-year mark.

Behind him Malcolm Rapson (Kawasaki ZX1000R) and Trevor Westman (Ocean Sizzler/Mad Mac's/indian/Victory Yamaha R1) got involved in one of the memorable battles of the day when,in both heats the two heavyweights slugged it out all the way to the line.For Rapson (the 2012 champ) this 2nd overall was par for the course but Westman's performance on his aged Yamaha R1 is sure to make his sponsors happy and bodes well for his show in 2015.You didn't hear this from me but there's a good chance he'll also be sporting a brand new bike.

Fourth and fifth belonged to 600cc riders Hayden Jonas (Kawasaki ZX6R) and rookie of the year ,Andre Calvert (KC Transport/Leslie's Gifts Kawasaki ZX6R) who got frustrated trying to get around Quentin Ebden's BMW S1000RR in order to engage Jonas…not that it mattered much,because when the championship points are tallied,Jonas' downtime for a broken wrist incurred at the short circuit and Calvert's consistency will come to bare.

Superbikes class B – Mark van den Berg (Wicked Tuning Honda CBR1000RR) took overall honours on one of the few Honda's out there fighting off the likes of Jacques Brits (Lize Signs BMWS1000RR),whos made an excellent recovery from his crash,and even mixing it up with some of the class A bikes.Mark's son,Alex van den Berg (Wicked Tuning CBR1000R)who loves to show his old man a wheel came in 3rd overall.In class C,Jacques Ackermann (Yamaha R1) collected his second overall win of the season after some great dicing with another track school graduate/rookie,Bronte Heinrich (Ducati 996) whos updated riding style,aka the Kenny Roberts has cut considerable time off his laps.Third went to veteran racer Wayne Arendse (Honda CBR1000R) who is last years class C champion.Look out for Arendse and Heinrich in the final,where they'll be competing for the class C trophy.

In Powersport A,Graeme Green (Thruxton Motorcycles Kawasaki ER6) and Warren Guantario (Carlberg Hydraulics Kawasaki ER6),in a great show of sportsmanship(probably tired of running the races on their lonesome) opted to start from pit lane and the back of the grid in heat 1 and 2..This had a revitalising effect on the second row of the grid allowing riders like JP Friedrich (Carlberg Hydraulics Suzuki SV650),Chris Williams (DEA Technologies Kawasaki ER6),Mike van Rensburg (Pragma Kawasaki ER6 and Paul Medell (Cape Bike Travel Suzuki SV650) to feel what fighting at the front is like.It didn't last though,Greene and Guantario are big fish in a small pond so it took just a couple laps before normal service was resumed with Guantario taking 1st overall,Greene in 2nd and J.P Friedrich trailing in 3rd but by only a few seconds.

Powersport B provided the second brilliant flash of the day with Chris Williams and Mike van Rensburg locked in race-long mortal combat with Paul Medell threatening to steal the bone.Next year will see the category classification for the powersports change to 650cc (twins) for class A and 400cc motos for class B.

Club Class – Dave Wainwright (Honda CBR600f2) took top honours with Hylton Ball (BMW R1100RS) coming in 2nd and Raiel le Roux (BMW S1000RR) who in a surprise twist is firmly on his way to becoming the 2014 club class champ.Unnoficial congratulations are also in order for the Reservoir Dogs Racing team and Tim Clark who's one race away from being the western province's classic bike champion. 

The hard luck award is shared by Xander du Plessis (Hypower/Cascade Yamaha R1) and Hilton Redelinhuys (Thruxton Motorcycles Kawasaki ZX1000R) .Hilton came off at T4 on the warm up lap for the second heat.Lowsided, the bike caught an edge and flipped with catastrophic damage resulting…an unbelievable bit of bad luck.Xander du Plessis hit T3 too hot and ended up in exactly the same ditch as his famous fall during practice a few months ago…fortunately this time it didn't have 3 feet of water in it..

Supersort 600 – Championship Points

Superbikes A,B,C – Championship Points

Classic Bikes – Championship Points

Clubman Bikes – Championship Points

Powersport A,B – Championship Points

At the bottom of the page is an album of all the track pics shot at Moto Regionals 8(11 Oct.2014).If you would like to order pics please send an email to djedryan@gmail.com with the relevant DSC numbers (just hover over the thumbnail pic, a pop-up will appear).






Join us at Capefuel.co.za on Facebook or on Twitter for more pics from this event and updates on upcoming track days and other events.

2 comments to W.P. Regional Motorcycle Champs (8th)

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>