16th Passion For Speed historic race meet and other club info.

Heads up race/car/bike people! It's the annual historic meeting this weekend at Killarney!

In fact most of the competitors, cars, and bikes have already arrived and are hard at work prepping and testing. You can see the official press release below but i should mention that the Cape Town leg of the South African Tourist Trophy revival series will also be on the menu. Word is that in addition to the local entries at least 25 rare and/or historically important racing motorcycles have made there way from as far afield as Scotland so be sure to make make a turn in the pit on Saturday or even Friday if you've the time.

Timetable pdf's below and enjoy the shots below (head over to our FB page for more) from 2011 of David Piper's 20 million pound Ferrari 250LM… and for the bikes, Englishman Roy Thursby with his Ducati F1 750 with the homologated tank he designed and built and our vey own noodle soup slurping Italian South-African Vietnamese,… Tony Sparg on his searing Suzuki GSX1100. 





Killarney Press Office-

Dear all,

Please see info below and attached related to this coming weekends "16th Passion For Speed" event.

Note, there will be NO Tuesday / Wednesday unofficial practice next week due to work taking place on the WRX portion of the main circuit.  


Historic international meeting at Killarney (4th February 2017).

With Saturday’s second leg of the international historic Passion for Speed Series coming just a week after the previous weekend’s opener at Zwartkops, a few incidents and accidents have necessitated certain changes in the car and driver line-up.  

Firstly, in the quaintly titled Pre ’66 Production Cars and Little Giants events that are currently grabbing the most attention, the legendary Sarel van der Merwe’s two ton, seven litre Ford Galaxie had a gearbox problem and has unfortunately had to be withdrawn. However Supervan will still be in action, but now at the wheel of a modified and equally quick Chev Chevelle V8.

Even without Sarel, there are still two huge Galaxies in the field. One is in the hands of leading Dutch driver Michiel Campagne, while the third is a 5.7 litre model, being steered by Ferdi van Niekerk Jnr. The Somerset West resident was in great form last week and went on to win the first race at Zwartkops.

Other giants in these events include a trio of formidable General Motors V8 products that have been entered by Jonathan and Mark Toit. Their cars include a 1964 Chev Nova and a 1957 “Black Widow.”     

And that’s not all. Because in the same events, Peter Lindenberg is going to be seen in a Shelby GT350, Vance Kearny in a Capri Perana and Jacques Mouton in his magnificent Studebaker Silver Hawk. There are even a pair of locally designed GSM Darts in one of the lower classes.

Armed with his SA championship winning Ford Escort replica, Louis Powell and Chris Carolin (Mazda rotary), are challenging another battalion of  V8’s led by Malcolm Uytenbogaardt (Ford Granada), Robin Forbes (Corvette Stingray) and Erik Mouton (Chev De Ville).

Mike Beachy Head’s 4.5-litre V8 Porsche 917 Replica, will revive memories of the magnificent 917’s campaigned by David Piper and other top international drivers in days now long gone. It is the standout entry in the Pre’74 ISP and Trans-Am category and although the car has not been seen at its best in recent appearances, Saturday may be different. Beachy Head’s greatest challenge is likely to come from Stellenbosch wine farmer, Andre Bezuidenhout in a Porsche RSR Turbo.

A major surprise in the Historic single seater events is an entry received from visiting driver Andrew Waring in a 1.5-litre BRM V8. Now no F1 BRM – real or replica – has ever been on the track here in the Cape and it is going to be interesting to see it in action.   

The first race is due off after the final practice and qualifying sessions, at 10.00. Admission is R100 for adults and R40 for scholars under 16. There is no charge for kiddies under 12.


Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>